Record Details

Catalog Search

[ Refine My Original Search ]

◄ Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1

Image of item

Sonny Rollins [videorecording] : saxophone colossus / a film by Robert Mugge ; a Mug-Shot production in association with Channel Four ... [et al.] ; producer, director, Robert Mugge.

Sonny Rollins saxophone colossus

Rollins, Sonny. (Added Author).
Mugge, Robert, 1950- (Added Author).
Sarmanto, Heikki, 1939- (Added Author).
Smith, Marvin, 1961- (Added Author).
Cranshaw, Bob. (Added Author).
Soskin, Mark. (Added Author).
Anderson, Clifton. (Added Author).
Obana, Kiyomitsu. (Added Author).
Mug-Shot Productions. (Added Author).
Channel Four Films (Firm) (Added Author).
Acorn Media (Firm) (Added Author).

Available copies

  • 1 copies at Grand Rapids Public Library

Current holds

    0 current holds with 1 total copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Main DVD 781.65 Sonny (Text) 31307018511156 Movies - Non Fiction Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 054961816392
  • Physical Description: 1 videodisc (ca. 101 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.
  • Edition: Full screen.
  • Publisher: Silver Spring, Md. : Distributed by Acorn Media, c2008.

Content descriptions

General Note:
Special feature: reflections by director Robert Mugge.
Participant or Performer Note:
Sonny Rollins, tenor saxophone ; Clifton Anderson, trombone ; Mark Soskin, piano ; Bob Cranshaw, bass ; Marvin "Smitty" Smith, drums ; Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra (Heikki Sarmanto, conductor ; Kiyomitsu Obana, concertmaster).
Date/Time and Place of an Event Note:
"Live" at Harvey Fite's, Opus 40, Saugerties, NY, August 16, 1986.
Summary, etc.:
Documentary featuring a performance of Rollins' Quintet and the world premiere of his concerto and presents interviews with Rollins, Sarmanto, and others.
System Details Note:
DVD, full screen (4:3); PCM audio, Dolby Digital.
Subject: Jazz > 1981-1990.
Saxophone music (Jazz)
Genre: Biographical films.
◄ Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1

Additional Resources